New York City: Part I

Luke was invited to speak at the Renaissance Society of America conference in New York City at the end of March. Since this was Luke’s first speaking event, I didn’t want to miss it! My sister also wanted to be there to hear Luke speak and spend some time with us so she took the train from DC to NYC and met us there. Luke’s talk was on Thursday evening so we had the rest of the trip free to have some fun exploring the city. Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos of Luke talking because I was too embarrassed to use my camera during his talk…but he did an excellent job! The topic, was of course, way over my head…but he sounded great and even impressed a professor from KU Leuven who later took him out to lunch. All in all it was a fun trip and a nice break from work, work, work 🙂
New-York-City-Blog-Post-7When we arrived we took a Taxi to Blooms Deli. They have a ton of great gluten free options. We enjoyed sandwiches, burgers and french fries. They even brought us a big bowl of pickles…that none of us touched. haha
New-York-City-Blog-Post-8 The next day while Luke was out to eat with the professor from KU Leuven, Ann and I trekked to another part of the city to have some mac & cheese at S’MAC. The weather wasn’t ideal while we were there. It wasn’t too chilly but it did rain quite a bit. Thankfully on the day with the most rain, a man offered us a free umbrella. Who said New Yorkers weren’t very nice?New-York-City-Blog-Post-9 New-York-City-Blog-Post-10 New-York-City-Blog-Post-11 I’ve been to both Bloom’s and S’MAC on prior trips to NYC. They are favorites of mine 🙂 S’MAC offers a variety of mac & cheeses…from the original All-American to Mediterranean, Cajun and even Buffalo Chicken!New-York-City-Blog-Post-12Be sure and check out my other posts on NYC: Part II, Part III, Part IV.

3 thoughts on “New York City: Part I

  1. You guys always make being in NYC look like so much fun…not that I don’t think it’s fun, but you’ve got that “look” about you, as if it’s just another “great” day in New York! Makes me smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

