Chicken and Vegetable Soup

MMM this soup is so so yummy! I began by following this recipe but decided to change it up a bit. The original recipe calls for mushrooms, poultry seasoning and barley. To my husbands dismay, I left out the mushrooms 🙂 I also omitted the poultry seasoning, threw in red bell pepper and substituted rice for barley since I have to stick with gluten free. I think quinoa would also be a nice substitute. I served it with our favorite gluten free biscuits made with gluten free Bisquick.Chicken&VegetableSoup Chicken and Vegetable Soup

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:
2 lbs skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into bite-size pieces
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1 cup carrots, chopped
1 small onion, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
4 cloves of garlic, minced
2 teaspoons dried basil
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon sea salt + a little extra
6 cups water
5-6 teaspoons Better than Bouillon Chicken Base
2 3/4 cup potatoes, cut into bite-size pieces
1/2 cup brown rice

Directions:
1. In a large pot bring 6 cups of water to a boil. Dissolve 5-6 teaspoons Better than Bouillon Chicken Base into the boiling water. Meanwhile, cut the chicken into bite-size pieces. Add the chicken to the boiling water.

2. In a large pan heat 2 Tablespoons olive oil over medium high heat. Add onion, garlic, green pepper, red pepper, carrots and pepper. Sprinkle lightly with salt. Sauté a few minutes until the onion becomes clear.

3. Throw the veggies in with the chicken. Add potatoes, rice, basil, parsley and salt. Bring to a boil and then simmer until the potatoes are tender and the rice is cooked. Serve with biscuits 🙂

11 thoughts on “Chicken and Vegetable Soup

  1. YUM YUM Katie; Ryan and I are already salivating! He has requested stir-fry for tonight; any tasty recipe ideas for that dish?! Also, I made your peanut butter chocolate chip cookies and they were so easy and delicious!!

  2. Yum! I am a soup fanatic in the winter months. It is lunch time & I’m hungry!!! It is in the teens here today so this one would make my tummy so warm.

      • I love freezing meals! Mostly just soups, stews, chili. I love being able to go to the freezer for a quick lunch! I was actually reading that some people will freeze olive oil with their homegrown spices (such as basil) for the winter months. 1 ice cube tray is supposed to be 1 table spoon worth of oil…. mind you, you cannot forget about your freezer meals or its all freezer burnt – or maybe I just don’t have to proper containers.

  3. Wow, I just googled the info on freezing olive oil and homegrown spices. So neat! I’ll have to keep that in mind for when we move to a cooler climate. In Florida our herbs pretty much grown year round 🙂 I think you’ve convinced me to start freezing my soups and stews. I bet there are certain containers that are specifically meant for the freezer…not sure though!

Leave a Reply

